Scientific resources Sample requests and distribution policy Cruise schedule Cruise applications Shipboard labs Curation and core repositories Mirror sites ODP/TAMU staff Cruise information Science and curation services Publication services and products Drilling services and tools Online Janus database Search the ODP/TAMU web site ODP's main web site ODP/TAMU Science Operator Home


Leg 200 Postcruise Information

Leg 200 Scientists:

Here's the lastest news for Leg 200 (LAST UPDATED 16 MAY 2003).


POSTCRUISE SCIENCE MEETING WEB SITE

Rather than send you multiple email messages every time we get some new information, we will place it on a web site. If you have information you would like added to the web site, send it to me and I will ask the ODP webmaster (Katerina Petronotis; petronotis@odpemail.tamu.edu) to add it to the web page.


POSTCRUISE SCIENCE MEETING DATES & LOCATION

The meeting will be held on Monday 4 August and Tuesday 5 August 2003 in Hilo, Hawaii.

Hilo is on the east side of the Big Island (also called Hawaii). To get to Hilo, you are all likely to fly first to Honolulu (Oahu) and then catch a smaller plane to Hilo. To get to the hotel, you can catch a taxi or use other modes of transportation of your choice (e.g., rental car).


POSTCRUISE SCIENCE MEETING HOTEL INFORMATION

Sarah has made arrangements for all of us to use a common hotel (Hilo Hawaiiian Hotel) at a discounted rate. The meeting will be held within a conference room in the hotel.

Here's the address and contact information:

    Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
    71 Banyan Drive
    Hilo, Hawaii 96720
    Phone (808) 935-9361
    Fax (808) 969-6472

A registration form for the hotel is available at

To ensure that you have a room on the days you want it, fill out the form and fax it to the hotel fax number.


POSTCRUISE SCIENCE MEETING FIELD TRIP

An optional(*) field trip will take place on Sunday 3 August. The field trip will depart by van from Hilo Hawaiian Hotel in the morning (TIME TO BE DECIDED). The field trip will be to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. A knowledgeable volcanologist will guide the trip. Costs for the field trip will be distributed amongst those participating on the field trip. The estimated cost will be given in a forthcoming message (COST TO BE DETERMINED).

*By optional, you should understand that funding is NOT provided for field trips for JOI/USSSP-funded scientists and is unlikely to be provided by most other funding agencies.


POSTCRUISE SCIENCE MEETING FUNDING

Funding is provided by the various ODP member countries or by academic instutions associated with ODP. It is up to each of you to understand the rules for reimbursement for the meeting.

For USA participants, the JOI/USSSP web page states that those scientists supported can receive up to $2000 of reimbursement for the Postcruise Meeting. At a minimum, this should cover your flight, per diem meals for 2 days in Hilo plus time in transit, and at least three nights in the hotel. If staying over Saturday night (2 August) results in a substantial reduction in your airfare, you MAY be able to recoup the cost for that night also. Information about Saturday stayovers will be provided by Kathy Bass (bass@odpemail.tamu.edu) at ODP Travel Services.

There may be a meeting registration fee, but this still has to be approved by JOI.

If you are unsure of whether you are being funded for the meeting, check with your funding agency.

For USA scientists, the following are funded by JOI/USSSP unless otherwise noted:

    Ralph Stephen
    Scott Calhoun (will not be attending the meeting)
    Hartley Hoskins
    Jim Natland
    Sarah Sherman
    Fred Frey
    Peter Bromirski
    Fred Duennebier
    Mike Garcia
    Emilio Herrero-Bervera (funding not approved yet; a request needs to be made)
    Gary Acton (funded by ODP/TAMU)
    Yue-Feng Sun (funded by ODP/Lamont)


POSTCRUISE SCIENCE MEETING ATTENDEES

The following will attend the meeting:

    Gary Acton
    Peter Bromirski
    Fred Dunnebier
    Fred Frey
    Mike Garcia
    Emilio Herrero-Bervera
    Hartley Hoskins
    Junzo Kasahara
    Werner Manz
    Greg Moore
    Jim Natland
    Ingun Nielsen
    Heather Paul
    Gabi Schumann-Kindel
    Sarah Sherman
    Ralph Stephen
    Yue-Feng Sun

The following are seeking funding or have not responded:

    Satoru Haraguchi
    Michele Lustrino (seeking funds)

The following will not attend the meeting:

    Scott Calhoun
    Mikako Nakamura
    John Wilson


ODP TRAVEL SERVICES

You will receive a letter of invitation from ODP Science Services soon. The ODP Travel Services has provided travel forms and other information at

http://www-odp.tamu.edu/admin/meetings.html

If you need additional copies of travel information letters or forms from ODP, go to that web site.

The ODP Travel Services ask that you inform them of your itinerary so they can assist with meeting logistics if necessary.

Per diem rates will be posted after the meeting.


POSTCRUISE SCIENCE MEETING TITLES AND ABSTRACTS

We would like a title and abstract from ALL the shipboard and shorebased scientists, whether you are attending the meeting or not. The abstracts will help us track the progress of all involved in Leg 200 Science. It has been over a year since the cruise, so we should all have made some progress and all of us who have requested samples or data are obligated to submit a paper soon (See the deadline info below).

Please send the abstract and title to me electronically (ASCII text, PDF, Word rtf, or WordPerfect). I will compile them into a PDF document and send it to you.

Get them to me before 7 July.


LEG 200 PAPER TITLES

Besides the title and abstract for the meeting, we need all titles for papers that you plan to submit to the Scientific Results volume or to other scientific journals. One of the primary goals of the Postcruise Science Meeting is to complete a preliminary table of contents for the Scientific Results volume. We need your help.

The best way to inform us of your title is to fill out a Preliminary Manuscript Description Form, which is available on the ODP Website at http://www-odp.tamu.edu/publications/guide/PRELFM.HTML.

Please do this before the meeting. Note, all shipboard scientists are required to publish as described in the "ODP Sample Distribution, Data Distribution, and Publications Policy" available at http://www-odp.tamu.edu/publications/policy.html. Thus, all shipboard scientists should fill out the electronic form. Similar rules apply to some shorebased scientists (see the policy).

For information on how to submit papers to ODP, see http://www-odp.tamu.edu/publications/CONTRIB.HTML.


PUBLICATION DEADLINES

See the list at http://www-odp.tamu.edu/publications/guide/DEADLN.HTML.


SPECIAL AGU SESSION IN DECEMBER

Ralph has proposed a Special Session on Leg 200 science for the fall AGU meeting. More on this in upcoming messages and at the Postcruise Science Meeting.


EMAIL ADDRESSES

SHIPBOARD PARTY EMAIL ADDRESSES
Gary Actonacton@odpemail.tamu.edu
new from ~1 July: acton@geology.ucdavis.edu
Scott Calhounrscalhoun@hotmail.com
Satoru Haraguchiharaguti@ori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Hartley Hoskinshhoskins@whoi.edu
Junzo Kasaharakasa2@eri.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Michele Lustrinomichele.lustrino@uniroma1.it
Werner ManzManz@bafg.de
Mikako Nakamuramikako@eri.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Jim Natlandjnatland@rsmas.miami.edu
Ingun Nielseningun_ziska@hotmail.com
Heather Paul028148@acadiau.ca
Gabriela Schumann-Kindelgschuma@gwdg.de
Sarah Shermanmacbeanur@yahoo.com
Ralph Stephenrstephen@whoi.edu
Yue-Feng Sunsunyf@ldeo.columbia.edu
John Wilsonj.wilson@gl.rhul.ac.uk

SHOREBASED PARTY EMAIL ADDRESSES
Peter Bromirskipeter@coast.ucsd.edu
Fred Duennebierfred@soest.hawaii.edu
John Firthfirth@odpemail.tamu.edu
Fred Freyfafrey@MIT.EDU
Michael Garciagarcia@soest.hawaii.edu
Kathy Gilliskgillis@uvic.ca
Bob Gollgoll@odpemail.tamu.edu
Emilio Herrero-Berveraherrero@akolea.soest.hawaii.edu
Greg Mooregmoore@hawaii.edu


I AM MOVING TO UC DAVIS IN JUNE

I have accepted a research position at University of California, Davis. As part of the position, I will be managing the paleomagnetism laboratory, which has all the toys a paleomagnetist could ever dream of. I will remain an ODP employee until 17 June, move to California from 18-30 June, and start working at UC Davis 1 July.

Now the bad news. I will be your Staff Scientist for life! Actually, I will consult with ODP/TAMU to continue as the Leg 200 Staff Scientist until the Leg 200 Scientific Results volume is completed, about 3 years from now. Thus, you are stuck with me.

Here is my tentative contact information:

    Department of Geology
    One Shields Avenue
    University of California
    Davis, CA 95616
    Phone: (530) 752-1861 or 0350
    Fax: (530) 752-0951
    E-mail: acton@geology.ucdavis.edu

I doubt my email account will be set up until mid-July. Please use my ODP email address to contact me until then.

Regards,
Gary

Gary Acton's Homepage

ODP | Search | Database | Drilling | Publications | Science | Cruise Info | Public Info | Admin | Computing | Staff | Mirrors

Send comments to webmaster@odpemail.tamu.edu.
Modified on Tuesday, 03-Jun-2003 13:50:49 CDT.